Taking Control: Trying Some New Things

“Incredible change happens in your life when you decide to take control of what you do have power over instead of craving control over what you don’t.”

 

I have daily chronic migraines. I have had them for about seven years now but had surgery December 30, 2016, to try and control the pain. For seven years I would wake up and go to bed with a pounding migraine. I finished high school, college, and even began my master’s degree through this period. Surgery went well and now I am able to go throughout my day with minimal pain. This is something I have been praying would happen for so long and I cannot express how grateful I am to finally have some relief.

Because of this constant pain, there were a lot of things in life that either had to be adjusted or avoided. I would get tired easily, had to take my time doing things, and had to be sure to schedule a nap if I wanted to get through the day. There was not a way for me to control my migraines; I just kind of had to go with the flow and do only as much as they would allow. Now that this issue is somewhat resolved, I feel like I should celebrate it. Not with a flashy party or anything crazy, but with a year of transformation. (Yes, I realize it is almost April and I am just now deciding to post this.)

At the very beginning of the year I decided that along with this HUGE life change should come some other changes as well. I knew I wanted to take control of the things I could control and live my life to the best of my ability. I wanted to focus on becoming a better me. This means different things to different people, but to me it meant reaching a healthy weight, getting Invisalign, and reevaluating some big decisions in life. I scheduled an orthodontist appointment and began the process of getting my aligners. I have been meeting with mentors to talk through this discernment process and learn more about my calling. Through all of this I was able to keep in mind that I wanted to reach my goal weight, but I hadn’t really done anything to do so. That’s when I decided to start 80lb Leap. My goal is to lose 80 lbs and document it on my new Youtube channel. It might be crazy but I’m in it for the long haul. I don’t know when I’ll hit my goal, I just know that I will be uploading weigh-in videos once a week and working hard to lose those 80 pounds.

I’m ready to take control of my life once again and enjoy everything that God has blessed me with. I’ve prayed for this miracle for a long time, now it is only right that I take this opportunity I have been given to make myself a better person inside and out. Check out my Youtube channel and Instagram (80lb_leap)!

-VMarie

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

